Symposium on Economic Experiments in Developing Countries (SEEDEC)

call for papers: 2021 Symposium on economic experiments in developing countries

The symposium will be fully online. It will start in the morning Australian time and end in the evening European time allowing researchers from around the world to participate.

Presentations will be divided into two non-overlapping zones: Pacific and Atlantic. Participants based in the US Central/Pacific time zone, Australasia, Asia and India are expected to present in the Pacific zone. Participants based in Africa, Europe, South America, and US Atlantic time zone are expected to present in the Atlantic zone.

Conference Start Date: October 6/October 7, 2021

Start time: 10 am, october 7, Australian Daylight Savings Time

                        = 7 pm, October 6, New York

                        = 4 pm, October 6, Los Angeles

                        = 1 am, October 7, Bergen

                        = 12 am, October 7, London

                        = 8 am, October 7, Tokyo

                        = 7 am, October 7, Singapore

                        = 4.30 am, October 7, New Delhi

We encourage researchers and interested participants to submit full papers or extended abstracts (up to 300 words).

Presenters might be asked to serve as a discussant for another paper in their session.


submit a paper/ an extended abstract

Key Dates:

  • Last Date for Submitting Papers/Extended Abstracts: August 10, 2021
  • Decisions on Accepted papers Announced: September 1, 2021
  • Registration Deadline for Participants: September 30, 2021


Register for SEEDEC 2021

Gender (optional)
Time zone*
I would like to submit a paper/an extended abstract*

The file cannot be larger than 4 MB

Det oppstod en feil under henting av captcha-bilde

Keynote speakerS

Sule Alan, European University Institute:

Title will be announced soon.

Alistair Munro, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies:

Title will be announced soon.


Background: Previous SEEDEC venues and speakers

  • Stefano DellaVigna, Pamela Jakiela (Berkeley 2019)
  • Alessandra Cassar, Bertil Tungodden (Wageningen 2018)
  • Macartan Humphreys, Eliana La Ferrara (UAE 2017)
  • Edward Miguel, Muriel Niederle (Busara 2016)
  • Nava Ashraf, Armin Falk (CERGE EI 2015)
  • Oriana Bandiera, Gary Charness (NHH 2014)
  • Abigail Barr, Charles Sprenger (NHH 2013)
  • Sendhil Mullainathan (Berkeley 2012)
  • Nava Ashraf, Colin Camerer, Uri Gneezy, Chris Udry (Berkeley 2011)



Atlantic zone: Vincent Somville, Ingvild Almås, Kjetil Bjorvatn & Bertil Tungodden, Norwegian School of Economics


  Pacific zone: Lata GangadharanPushkar Maitra & Paulo Santos, Monash University


SEEDEC Committee: Edward Miguel, Carson Christiano, Alistair Munro & Pieter Serneels

If you have questions, please contact