Haaland nominated for honorary award

Jan I Haaland_NHH bygg
NHH professor Jan I. Haaland is one of the 13 nominees for NOKUT's honorary award. It is given to an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to the quality of education in Norway.
By Sigrid Folkestad

4 January 2024 11:20

Haaland nominated for honorary award

NOKUT awards an honorary prize to an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to educational quality in Norway. Professor Jan I. Haaland from the Department of Economics is nominated.

  • Bjørn Stensaker, Professor, UiO
  • Blanca Estela B. de Hvitsten, University lecturer
  • Elin Børrud, Professor, NMBU
  • Erik Johansen, Student Parliament, NTNU
  • Jan I. Haaland, Professor, NHH
  • Marianne Høva Rustberggard, student´s ombudsperson, UiO
  • Nils Christian Tvedt Karlsen, doctor, entrepreneur
  • Petter Aasen, Professor, University of South-Eastern Norway
  • Gunn Enli, Professor, UiO
  • Knut Mørken, Professor, UiO
  • Sander Sværi, Rector, Oslo New University College
  • Svein Haavik, Professor Emeritus, UiB
  • Vigdis Vandvik, Professor, UiB

During the NOKUT (Norwegian Agency for Quality Assurance in Education) conference "Kvalitet i klemme” on February 8, the honorary prize will be presented. As part of the 20th anniversary, the organization will award an honorary prize to a person who has done a great job improving the quality of higher education.

Jan I. Haaland became full professor at NHH Norwegian School of Economics in 1994. He was Rector in the period 2005-2013, and President of the Norwegian Association of Higher Education Institutions (UHR) from 2009 to 2013. He served as Dean of the master programmes at NHH 2015-2017, and is presently CEMS Academic Director at NHH.

Several candidates have been nominated by multiple individuals, and now a evaluation process awaits, says NOKUT Director Kristin Vinje on their website:

`The jury will use the time leading up to the NOKUT conference wisely, both by reviewing the justifications in the nominations and by making our own assessments. Both the jury and I look forward to this work.´

The jury consists of NOKUT's Chair of the Board Lise Iversen Kulbrandstad, NSO (National Union of Students in Norway) leader Oline Sæther, the rector of the Norwegian Academy Jørn Jensen, and Director Kristin Vinje.