The Appeals Committee

The Appeals Committee

The Appeals Committee is a statutory committee that decides appeals against individual decisions.

The Appeals Committee processes the following cases:

  • Appeals against rejections of applications for admission to programmes or courses, except for admissions organised at the national level
  • Cases concerning forgery of documentation in connection with admissions,
  • Appeals against procedural errors in connection with examinations
  • Suspicion of cheating
  • Cases concerning the annulment of examinations or tests, and exclusion and expulsion
  • Appeals against a refusal to approve a PhD thesis, trial lecture and public defence of a thesis
  • Cases concerning forced termination of a PhD education
  • Appeals against a refusal to approve a PhD thesis
  • Other appeals cases concerning the students that are not individual decisions 

All complaints, except for cases related to suspicion of cheating, must normally be directed to the Office of Student and Academic Affairs at NHH as the first instance and the Appeals Committee as the appeal body.

The Appeals Committee’s decisions in these cases cannot be appealed. Appeals over decisions made by the NHH Appeals committee regarding cheating are processed by a national appeals body.


  • Professor Asbjørn Strandbakken, UiB (chair)
    (Personal deputy member:  Professor Bjørnar Borvik, UiB)
  • Associate Professor Jørgen Haug
    (Personal deputy member: Professor Jonas Andersson)
  • Associate Professor Beate Sandvei 
    (Personal deputy member: Associate Professor Linda Orvedal)
  • Kristiane Morewood Thoen (student representative until 31.12.2024)
    (Personal deputy member: Kjersti Haaland )
  • Knut Visdal (student representative until  31.07.2024) 
    (Personal deputy member: Kristian Hope)

Committee secretary

Meetings spring semester 2024

  • 8 February
  • 11 March
  • 23 April
  • 6 May
  • 11 June
  • 11 July